Fabrizio, Haslam Victorious at Kyalami WSBK

By Cycle CanadaPosted on

Italy’s Michel Fabrizio (Xerox Ducati) and Leon Haslam (Suzuki Alstare) took victory in races one and two respectively during round six of the world superbike championship at Kyalami in South Africa this past weekend.

Fabrizio, starting from the pole, dominated in race one, leading throughout and finishing  ahead of satellite Ducati rider Carlos Checa and points leader Haslam.

Race two saw Fabrizio suffering an inexplicable loss of grip that ruined any chance a double win for the Ducati team and allowed Haslam to claim his third win of the season after passing fellow Briton Jonathan Rae (Ten Kate Honda) with only a little over a lap remaining. Haslam’s championship rival Max Biaggi (Aprilia Alitalia) finished a very strong third, just eight one hundredths of a second adrift of Rae. Fabrizio could only muster eighth.

Leon Haslam maintains the championship lead with 222 points after six rounds, 15 clear of Italy’s Max Biaggi, while Jonathan Rea and Carlos Checa are tied for third at 141.

Kyalami World Superbike Race 1 Results 

1. Michel Fabrizio (Ducati) 

2. Carlos Checa (Ducati) -1.098 sec. 

3. Leon Haslam (Suzuki) -5.049 sec. 

4. Max Biaggi (Aprilia) -6.974 sec. 

5. Jonathan Rea (Honda) 

6. Leon Camier (Aprilia) 

7. James Toseland (Yamaha) 

8. Cal Crutchlow (Yamaha) 

9. Jakub Smrz (Ducati) 

10. Sylvain Guintoli (Suzuki) 

11. Luca Scassa (Ducati) 

12. Troy Corser (BMW) 

13. Sheridan Morais (Aprilia) 

14. Ruben Xaus (BMW) 

15. Shane Byrne (Ducati) 

16. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki) 

17. Noriyuki Haga (Ducati) 

18. Chris Vermeulen (Kawasaki) 

19. Max Neukirchner (Honda) 

Kyalami World Superbike Race 2 Results

1. Leon Haslam (Suzuki) 

2. Jonathan Rea (Honda) -0.522 sec. 

3. Max Biaggi (Aprilia) -0.601 sec. 

4. Cal Crutchlow (Yamaha) -0.991 sec. 

5. Carlos Checa (Ducati) -1.479 sec. 

6. James Toseland (Yamaha) 

7. Troy Corser (BMW) 

8. Michel Fabrizio (Ducati) 

9. Jakub Smrz (Ducati) 

10. Noriyuki Haga (Ducati) 

11. Ruben Xaus (BMW) 

12. Luca Scassa (Ducati) 

13. Shane Byrne (Ducati) 

14. Tom Sykes (Kawasaki) 

15. Sylvain Guintoli (Suzuki) 

16. Chris Vermeulen (Kawasaki) 

17. Max Neukirchner (Honda) 

18. Broc Parkes (Honda) 

19. Roger Lee Hayden (Kawasaki) 

20. Matteo Baiocco (Kawasaki)

2010 World Superbike Championship Standings

1. Leon Haslam Suzuki 222

2. Max Biaggi Aprilia 207

3. Jonathan Rea Honda 141

4. Carlos Checa Ducati 141

5. J. Toseland Yamaha 125

6. Noriyuki Haga Ducati 106

7. Troy Corser BMW 105

8. Michel Fabrizio Ducati 95

9. Cal Crutchlow Yamaha 86

10. Leon Camier Aprilia 82

11. S. Guintoli   Suzuki 77

12. Shane Byrne Ducati 62

13. Jakub Smrz Ducati 61

14. Ruben Xaus BMW 42

15. Tom Sykes Kawasaki 37

16. Lorenzo Lanzi Ducati 26

17. Luca Scassa Ducati 25

18. M.Neukirchner Honda 23

19. C. Vermeulen Kawasaki 5

20. S. Morais Aprilia 3

21. Andrew Pitt BMW 3

22. R. Hayden Kawasaki 2

23. J. Brookes Honda 2

24. Broc Parkes Honda 1

25. M.Baiocco Kawasaki 1


Indian Motorcycle Factory Rider Troy Herfoss Secures First-Career King of the Baggers Victory

Leatt LIVE Maniacs announced: Chris Birch & Jonny Walker return to Red Bull Romaniacs 2024

Metzeler Roadtec 02: The Super-Sport-Touring tyre with Dynatread Technology

Canada’s motorcycle and off-highway vehicle industry contributes billions to the economy

AIROH J 110 the two-in-one helmet with an unmistakable style

Aviator Ace 2 and Twist 3: AIROH’s new must have helmets for off road