MotoGP: Pedrosa Wins his First Japanese GP

PAR Cycle CanadaPosted on


Dani Pedrosa won the Japanese Grand Prix for the first time on Sunday at Motegi. The Spaniard, who’d previously won in Japan in the 125 cc and 250 cc classes, crossed the finish line over seven seconds ahead of defending champion Jorge Lorenzo for his third victory of the season. Championshiop leader Casey Stoner led the race early on but went into the gravel in a turn on lap five, allowing his Repsol Honda team-mates Andrea Dovizioso and Pedrosa to get by. Shortly thereafter Dovi had to pull in for jump-start penalty which gifted Pedrosa a lead that he never relinquished. Stoner fought his way back from seventh to third, while Dovizioso placed fifth, just behind fellow Italian Honda rider Marco Simoncelli, who along with Cal Crutchlow also served a jump start penalty. Ducati’s Valentino Rossi crashed out of the race on the opening lap, after coming into contact with Lorenzo in turn two.

Pedrosa, who missed three races this season due to collarbone injury, is now just one point out of third in the championship behind Dovizioso. Stoner meanwhile, now sits 40 points ahead of second-placed Lorenzo with three rounds remaining. The next race takes place on Stoner’s home turf at Phillip Island in Australia on October 14.


2011 Motegi GP Race Results

1. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda 42m 47.481s

2. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing +7.299

3. Casey Stoner AUS Repsol Honda +18.380

4. Marco Simoncelli ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini +23.550

5. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Repsol Honda +23.691

6. Ben Spies USA Yamaha Factory Racing +37.604

7. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboro +39.167

8. Colin Edwards USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 +45.023

9. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN San Carlo Honda Gresini +49.074

10. Randy de Puniet FRA Pramac Racing +59.022

11. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 +1’13.964

12. Kousuke Akiyoshi JPN LCR Honda +1’21.709

13. Shinichi Ito JPN Honda Racing Team +1’26.381


Toni Elias ESP LCR Honda

Alvaro Bautista ESP Rizla Suzuki

Damian Cudlin AUS Pramac Racing

Hector Barbera ESP Mapfre Aspar

Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Marlboro


Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing


2011 MotoGP Championship Standings

1 Casey Stoner Repsol Honda Team 300

2 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Factory Racing 260

3 Andrea Dovizioso Repsol Honda Team 196

4 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 195

5 Ben Spies Yamaha Factory Racing 156

6 Valentino Rossi Ducati Marlboro Team 139

7 Nicky Hayden Ducati Marlboro Team 123

8 Marco Simoncelli San Carlo Honda Gresini 119

9 Colin Edwards Monster Yamaha Tech 3 98

10 Hiroshi Aoyama San Carlo Honda Gresini 94

11 Héctor Barberá Mapfre Aspar Team 77

12 Álvaro Bautista Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 67

13 Cal Crutchlow Monster Yamaha Tech 3 57

14 Karel Abraham Cardion AB Motoracing 50

15 Toni Elías LCR Honda MotoGP 47

16 Randy de Puniet Pramac Racing Team 39

17 Loris Capirossi Pramac Racing Team 29

18 Kousuke Akiyoshi San Carlo Honda Gresini/LCR Honda 7

19 John Hopkins Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 6

20 Shinichi Ito Honda Racing Team 3




Mitas is Expanding its SPORT FORCE+ RS Tire Range

New Harley-Davidson® Screamin’ Eagle® 135 Stage IV Crate Engine sets new performance benchmark

Maritime’s Only Motorcycle & Powersport Showcase Makes Roaring Return

Indian Motorcycle celebrates 2022 King of the Baggers championship with ultra-limited Indian Challenger RR

2022: A record-breaking year for Triumph motorcycles