MotoGP: Silverstone Win Gives Stoner Championship Lead

PAR Cycle CanadaPosted on

Casey Stoner shook off appalling wet weather conditions to take his fourth victory of the season yesterday at Silverstone, in a race that saw defending champion Jorge Lorenzo highside out of the title lead and Colin Edwards claim a podium spot just nine days after breaking his collarbone. Edwards’ Monster Yamaha Tech 3 team-mate Cal Crutchlow missed his home race after sustaining the very same injury in crash during qualifying on Saturday, while Stoner’s Repsol Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa, also with a broken collarbone, remained sidelined for the second race in a row.

Stoner started the race from the pole and by lap 2 of 20, passed Lorenzo and Repsol Honda team-mate Andrea Dovizioso for the lead, where he remained uncontested for the duration. Dovizioso held on to second place unhindered after Lorenzo, and two laps later Marco Simoncelli, both crashed out of the contest in turn one, handing the injured Edwards his first podium finish of the season.

Lorenzo’s DNF at Silverstone, his first since Australia 2009, drops him to second place in the championship standings, 28 points back of Stoner.

The next race is at Assen in the Netherlands on June 25.

2011 Silverstone MotoGP Results

1. Casey Stoner (Aus) Repsol Honda 47 mins, 53.459 secs

2. Andrea Dovizioso (It) Repsol Honda +15.159 secs

3. Colin Edwards (USA) Tech 3 Yamaha + 21.480

4. Nicky Hayden (USA) Ducati + 26.984

5. Alvaro Bautista (Sp) Suzuki + 35.569

6. Valentino Rossi (It) Ducati + 1’04.526

7. Karel Abraham (Cze) Ducati + 1’32.650

8 Toni Elias (Sp) LCR Honda + 1’51.938

9. Hiroshi Aoyama (Jpn) Gresini Honda + 1’52.350

10. Loris Capirossi (It) Pramac Ducati + 2’03.312

11. Hector Barbera (Sp) Aspar Ducati one lap

12. Randy De Puniet (Fr) Pramac Ducati one lap


Marco Simoncelli (It) San Carlo Honda Gresini

Jorge Lorenzo (Sp) Yamaha Factory Racing

Ben Spies (USA) Yamaha Factory Racing

2011 MotoGP Championship Standings 

1    Casey STONER     Honda     AUS   116

2    Jorge LORENZO     Yamaha    SPA    98

3    Andrea DOVIZIOSO     Honda     ITA     83

4    Valentino ROSSI     Ducati     ITA     68

5    Dani PEDROSA   Honda     SPA    61

6    Nicky HAYDEN     Ducati     USA   60

7    Hiroshi AOYAMA     Honda     JPN    43

8    Colin EDWARDS     Yamaha    USA   37

9    Ben SPIES     Yamaha    USA   36

10   Karel ABRAHAM     Ducati     CZE   33

11   Marco SIMONCELLI    Honda     ITA    32

12   Hector BARBERA     Ducati     SPA    31

13   Cal CRUTCHLOW     Yamaha    GBR   30

14   Toni ELIAS     Honda     SPA   28

15   Alvaro BAUTISTA     Suzuki     SPA   22

16   Loris CAPIROSSI     Ducati     ITA    22

17   Randy DE PUNIET   Ducati     FRA   10

18   John HOPKINS     Suzuki     USA    6




Mv Agusta closes a successful year and gears up production in Schiranna

2024 FC 250 and FC 450 Rockstar Edition models take customization and performance to an exciting new level

Metzeler Karoo 4 tyres and the BMW R 1300 GS: from 0 to 6000 metres above sea level in less than 24 hours

Get to the front of the pack: chase the 2024 KTM 450 SX-F and 250 SX-F Factory Editions

Superveloce Arsham – The most exclusive collaboration in the motorcycle world

Bridgestone Named Official Tire of FAST Riding School