MotoGP: Pedrosa Dominates at Mugello

PAR Cycle CanadaPosted on

Starting from the pole position, Dani Pedrosa (Reposal Honda) won today’s Italian MotoGP race at Mugello (his first win of 2010) in dominant fashion, leading his nearest rivals at one point by 8 seconds and ultimately cruising past the checkered flag 4 seconds ahead of fellow Spaniard Jorge Lorenzo (Fiat Yamaha). Pedrosa’s teammate Andrea Dovizioso joined the pair in third to round out the podium.

The big news at Mugello this weekend though was Valentino Rossi’s disasterous crash during practice on Saturday that left him with a fractured leg requiring surgery and out of competition for what could be months.

With 6 races between now and July 25, when the summer break begins, the injury is severe blow to Rossi’s campaign for a tenth world title this year. The reigning MotoGP champion had never previously missed a race, since his 1996 grand prix debut in the 125cc class.

Pedrosa’s win today moves him into second place overall, 25 points back of Lorenzo.

2010 Mugello MotoGP Results

  1. Dani Pedrosa ESPRepsol Honda Team 42m 28.066s
  2. Jorge Lorenzo ESPFiat Yamaha Team 42m 32.080s
  3. Andrea DoviziosoITARepsol Honda Team 42m 34.262s
  4. Casey Stoner AUSDucati Marlboro Team 42m 53.789s
  5. Marco Melandri ITASan Carlo Honda Gresini42m 53.801s
  6. Randy de Puniet FRALCR Honda MotoGP42m 54.031s
  7. Ben Spies USAMonster Yamaha Tech 3 42m 56.872s
  8. Aleix Espargaro ESPPramac Racing 43m 8.238s
  9. Marco Simoncelli ITASan Carlo Honda Gresini 43m 9.460s
  10. Loris Capirossi ITARizla Suzuki MotoGP 43m 10.173s
  11. Hiroshi Aoyama JPNInterwetten Honda MotoG 43m 11.161s
  12. Hector Barbera ESPPaginas Amarillas Aspar 43m 11.429s
  13. Colin Edwards USAMonster Yamaha Tech 3 43m 42.459s
  14. Alvaro Bautista ESPRizla Suzuki MotoGP 43m 52.455s


  • Mika Kallio FINPramac Racing
  • Nicky Hayden USADucati Marlboro Team


2010 MotoGP Championship Standings

  1. Jorge LorenzoFiat Yamaha Team90
  2. Dani PedrosaRepsol Honda Team65
  3. Valentino RossiFiat Yamaha Team61
  4. Andrea DoviziosoRepsol Honda Team58
  5. Nicky HaydenDucati Marlboro Team39
  6. Randy de Puniet LCR Honda36
  7. Marco MelandriSan Carlo Honda Gresini32
  8. Casey StonerDucati Marlboro Team24
  9. Marco Simoncelli San Carlo Honda Gresini23
  10. Ben SpiesMonster Yamaha Tech 320
  11. Colin Edwards Monster Yamaha Tech 319
  12. =Hector BarberaAspar Racing Team19
  13. Hiroshi AoyamaInterwetten Honda MotoGP18
  14. Alex EspargaroPramac Racing Team16
  15. Loris CapirossiRizla Suzuki MotoGP13
  16. Mika KallioPramac Racing Team12
  17. Alvaro BautistaRizla Suzuki MotoGP8


Here are the dates for The 2024 Motorcycle and Powersport Shows in Canada

Dare to take the next step: discover the world of exploration with the revived KTM 790 ADVENTURE

King of the comebacks: hail the new KTM 890 SMT

No roads, no problem: race anywhere with the KTM 1290 SUPER ADVENTURE S and KTM 1290 SUPER ADVENTURE R

OSET launches all new generation of electric dirt bikes

Beta Motorcycles pairs up with Mitas TERRA FORCE-EF tires for its 2024 Xtrainer enduro bikes