Lorenzo Bumps Off Pedrosa in Final Lap at Jerez

PAR Cycle CanadaPosted on

Jorge Lorenzo clawed his way back from 5th position to snatch victory in the final lap from fellow Spaniard Dani Pedrosa on home turf at the Jerez MotoGP today.

The dramatic finish to the second round of the 2010 MotoGP season saw the arch rivals bumping into each other twice during the last two laps with Lorenzo passing the pole sitter and prevailing with only half a lap to go.

Lorenzo’s first MotoGP win at Jerez and the sixth of his career now puts him in the overall lead, 4 points ahead of his Fiat Yamaha teammate Valentino Rossi who, riding with a shoulder injury sustained during motocross training,  finished third, just 0.89sec from victory.  

Jerez MotoGP Results

1. Jorge Lorenzo SPA Fiat Yamaha Team 45m 17.538s

2. Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team 45m 18.081s

3. Valentino Rossi ITA Fiat Yamaha Team 45m 18.428s

4. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboro Team 45m 26.553s

5. Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team 45m 27.572s

6. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Repsol Honda Team 45m 40.682s

7. Mika Kallio FIN Pramac Racing 45m 52.027s

8. Marco Melandri ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini45m 52.225s

9. Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda MotoGP 45m   53.698s

10. Alvaro Bautista SPA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 45m  54.329s

11. Marco Simoncelli ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini45m 54.693s

12. Colin Edwards     USAMonster Yamaha Tech 3 45m   55.798s

13. Hector Barbera SPA Paginas Amarillas Aspar 45m 55.909s

14. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Interwetten Honda MotoGP 46m 19.59s

15. Aleix Espargaro SPA Pramac Racing +3laps


Ben Spies USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3

Loris Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP

2010 MotoGP Overall Standings

1 Jorge Lorenzo Fiat Yamaha Team 45

2 Valentino Rossi Fiat Yamaha Team 41

3 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 29

4 Andrea Dovizioso Repsol Honda Team 26

= Nicky Hayden Ducati Marlboro Team 26

6 Randy de Puniet LCR Honda 17

7 Colin Edwards Monster Yamaha Tech 312

8 Ben Spies Monster Yamaha Tech 311

= Casey Stoner Ducati Marlboro Team    11

= Marco Melandri San Carlo Honda Gresini11

11 Marco Simoncelli San Carlo Honda Gresini10

12 Mika Kallio Pramac Racing Team 9

13 Hiroshi Aoyama Interwetten Honda MotoGP 8

14 Hector Barbera Aspar Racing Team 7

= Loris Capirossi Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 7

16 Alvaro Bautista Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 6

17 Alex Espargaro Pramac Racing Team 1


Mv Agusta closes a successful year and gears up production in Schiranna

2024 FC 250 and FC 450 Rockstar Edition models take customization and performance to an exciting new level

Metzeler Karoo 4 tyres and the BMW R 1300 GS: from 0 to 6000 metres above sea level in less than 24 hours

Get to the front of the pack: chase the 2024 KTM 450 SX-F and 250 SX-F Factory Editions

Superveloce Arsham – The most exclusive collaboration in the motorcycle world

Bridgestone Named Official Tire of FAST Riding School