Stoner Wins 3rd Consecutive Aussie MotoGP

By Cycle CanadaPosted on

Casey Stoner finished 1.935 seconds ahead of championship leader Valentino Rossi on Sunday to win for the third straight year at Philip Island. Spaniard Dani Pedrosa finished third, while Rossi’s Ducati team mate Jorge Lorenzo crashed out of the race, after tangling with American Nicky Hayden on the first lap.

Stoner, celebrating his 24th birthday this weekend, started on the pole position and led the race from start to finish, showing no sign of the mysterious illness that sidelined him for three races prior to his comeback in Portugal on October 4th, where he placed second.

“The whole team’s done a fantastic job,” Stoner said after the race.

“We spent those three races away to fix myself up. It’s definitely a big step from what we were in the middle of the season.

“It’s nice to be able to fight for victories. Even if I didn’t win today, I’d have had a ball.” 

Rossi’s second place finish gives him a virtual stranglehold on another world title, putting him 38 points ahead of his nearest rival Lorenzo. Two rounds of the world championship remain – Malaysia and Valencia – with a maximum of 50 points available.

2009 Australian Grand Prix MotoGP results 

1.  Casey Stoner (Australia) Ducati 40 mins 56.651 secs

2.  Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 40:58.586

3.  Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 41:19.269

4.  Alex de Angelis (San Marino) Honda 41:29.353

5.  Colin Edwards (U.S.) Yamaha 41:32.536

6.  Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Honda 41:35.133

7.  Marco Melandri (Italy) Kawasaki 41:41.112

8.  Randy de Puniet (France) Honda 41:41.592

9.  Mika Kallio (Finland) Ducati 41:50.996

10. Toni Elias (Spain) Honda 41:57.856

11. Chris Vermeulen (Australia) Suzuki 42:02.068

12. Loris Capirossi (Italy) Suzuki 42:02.601

13. Gabor Talmacsi (Hungary) Honda 42:14.602

14. James Toseland (Britain) Yamaha 42:14.636

15. Nicky Hayden (U.S.) Ducati +1 Laps

Not Finished

     Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) 


2009 Champion Standings

1.  Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 270

2.  Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 232

3.  Casey Stoner (Australia) Ducati 195

4.  Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 189

5.  Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Honda 152

6.  Colin Edwards (U.S.) Yamaha 145

7.  Alex de Angelis (San Marino) Honda 101

8.  Randy de Puniet (France) Honda 101

9.  Loris Capirossi (Italy) Suzuki 101

10. Marco Melandri (Italy) Kawasaki 100

11. Toni Elias (Spain) Honda 96

12. Chris Vermeulen (Australia) Suzuki 95

13. James Toseland (Britain) Yamaha 87

14. Nicky Hayden (U.S.) Ducati 82

15. Mika Kallio (Finland) Ducati 58

16. Niccolo Canepa (Italy) Ducati 38

17. Gabor Talmacsi (Hungary) Honda 17

18. Sete Gibernau (Spain) Ducati 12

19. Yuki Takahashi (Japan) Honda 9

20. Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Ducati 8



Indian Motorcycle Factory Rider Troy Herfoss Secures First-Career King of the Baggers Victory

Leatt LIVE Maniacs announced: Chris Birch & Jonny Walker return to Red Bull Romaniacs 2024

Metzeler Roadtec 02: The Super-Sport-Touring tyre with Dynatread Technology

Canada’s motorcycle and off-highway vehicle industry contributes billions to the economy

AIROH J 110 the two-in-one helmet with an unmistakable style

Aviator Ace 2 and Twist 3: AIROH’s new must have helmets for off road