Bridgestone CSBK tweaks point structure for 2024

By Posted on

The Bridgestone Canadian Superbike Championship has made a slight revision to its point structure for the 2024 campaign, removing the “lap led bonus” for all national classes this season.

The rule was first introduced in the 1990’s, where the rider who led the most laps in each race would earn a two-point bonus in the standings. When CSBK adopted the more common FIM-style point structure in 2022, the rule was revised to become a two-point bonus to any rider who led a lap across the line, with multiple riders able to earn the bonus in each race.

Beginning in 2024, no in-race bonuses will be awarded. The qualifying point system will remain in place, awarding four points to pole position down to one point for fourth, while the race point structure also remains unchanged from the FIM system used in 2023.

The lap led bonus was unique to the Bridgestone CSBK series, with every other major motorcycle racing championship currently using the standard FIM point structure, seen primarily in MotoGP and World Superbike.

Notably, eliminating the bonus points would not have changed any of the title outcomes in either 2022 or 2023, the two seasons when the most recent format was used.

Last season, three different riders managed to lead a lap in the feature GP Bikes Pro Superbike category, with champion Ben Young doing it on six occasions while rival Alex Dumas countered with five lap led bonuses and Sam Guerin earned one.

In the Pro Sport Bike category, eight different riders managed to secure a lap led bonus at some point in the season, with champion David MacKay doing so four times while runner-up Matt Simpson and Sebastien Tremblay each countered with three.

The revised format is just the latest change to take affect entering the 2024 season, which will begin with round one at Shannonville Motorsport Park from May 17-19, just east of Belleville, ON. BK tweaks point structure for 2024.

Main picture: The only three Superbike riders to score a lap led bonus during the 2023 CSBK season – Ben Young (1), Alex Dumas (23), and Sam Guerin (2). Bridgestone CSBK has revised the points structure for 2024 with the removal of the two-point bonus for leading a lap during a race. [Photo: Rob O’Brien / CSBK]



Sport Bike Preview: Tremblay, Young face off at Shannonville

Superbike Preview: Young kicks off 2024 title quest at Shannonville

“GRAY BROWN” is the name of the new BMW R100 customized by Lord Drake Kustoms

Mitas gives Enduro riders a new level of handling terrain with release of TERRA FORCE-EF 2 SM

Never Stop! KTM Responds to the demands of Orange Bleeders

Husqvarna Motorcycles Announces Exciting New Motocross and Cross-Country Line-Up for 2025

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *