James Owen has won the 2023 Iron Butt Rally!

PAR Ross Copas Posted on

James Owen has won the 2023 Iron Butt Rally. This is his 3rd Iron Butt Rally win and he recorded the second highest mileage ever ridden during the rally. James rode his 2022 BMW R1250RT 14,138 miles in 11 days and collected 151,821 points. He previously won the rally in 2009 and 2017. James is the only two-time winner and is now the only three-time winner of the IBR. James lost points due to being in the penalty window at the finish but had enough to still win. If he had arrived 12 minutes later, he would have finished 2nd. But he timed it perfectly and pulled off what many considered impossible… again.

For more detailed information, you can read the daily ride reports at: ironbuttrally.net.

Previous winners: Paul Taylor 2003, James Owen 2009, 2017, 2023, Ross Copas 1986, Wendy Crocket 2019 (only female winner to date), Mike Brooke 2021.


Kawasaki confirms Szoke, Dion split ahead of SMP finale

Young sweeps CTMP tripleheader to set up title showdown

Young wins again in race two, Tremblay takes Sport Bike at CTMP

Young crushes dramatic Superbike race one at CTMP

Laing takes debut victory in wild Sport Bike make-up race at CTMP

Young awarded Superbike pole after qualifying cancelled at CTMP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *