Historic win for MV Agusta

PAR Cycle CanadaPosted on

It’s been a long time since an MV Agusta won a world championship race. The Italian marque’s last win came in 1976 at Germany’s Nurburgring when the legendary Giacomo Agostini rode to victory. Last weekend Jules Cluzel (MV Agusta RC-Yakhnich Motorsport) brought the 38-year drought to an end at Phillip Island, Australia. 

The Frenchman finished first in a World Supersport race WorldSBK.com described as “unpredictable.” After a red flag and restart, frontrunners Kenan Sofuoglu (Mahi Racing Team India Kawasaki) and Michael van Der Mark (Pata Honda World Supersport) crashed during the second lap of a five-lap sprint finish. A back and forth five-way battle ensued, with Cluzel narrowly edging Kev Coghlan (DMC Panavto-Yamaha) for the win. Core PTR Honda rider Rafaelle De Rosa rounded out the top three. 

After his victory Cluzel commented: “We were terribly unlucky both during testing and at the start of the weekend. We rode far fewer laps than we should have. After that, going on to win was just a dream! Before the start I told my mechanics I’d do my utmost, and that’s exactly what I did, without making a single mistake. It’s a deserved victory. We’ve still got a long way to go but we’re convinced that the bike and the team have huge potential.”


Canadian Kawasaki adds CMSBK road racing to 2022 Team Green program eligibility

Brandon Paasch officially becomes part of Triumph’s Avenue of Legends

Ryan Dungey to race opening rounds of AMA Pro Motocross Series

AIROH confirmed as Main FIM ISDE Partner until 2024

CFMOTO Canada unveils its motorcycle models

adidas Originals and Kawasaki Celebrate the Past, Present, and Future of ZX with Two Collaborative Sneakers