MotoGP: Pedrosa Now Winningest Racer without a Title

By Cycle CanadaPosted on


Dani Pedrosa took his second victory of the season during the German grand prix at Sachsenring on Sunday, finishing 1.477 seconds ahead of defending champion Jorge Lorenzo, followed closely by current points leader Casey Stoner in third. The Spaniard put on a surprisingly strong performance in just his second race back after missing three rounds due to a broken collarbone. 

Early in the race it was Stoner who looked to be on course for another win, after moving from fourth to first during the opening laps. He wasn’t able to shake Lorenzo and Pedrosa though, and the two passed the Australian just after the race’s halfway point. Pedrosa then broke clear of Lorenzo, leaving his Repsol Honda team-mate to fight with the Yamaha rider for second. With one lap remaining it looked like Stoner had done enough to garner the runner-up position, but the reigning world champ made a daring pass in the final corner of the race to snatch second place away from Stoner and cut his championship points advantage to 15.

Pedrosa’s victory at Sachsenring is his 14th in the premier-class, making him the most successful rider yet to win the title. He now sits fifth overall in the 2011 championship, 74 points adrift of Stoner.

The next race takes place on July 24 at Laguna Seca in California.

2011 Sachsenring MotoGP Race Results

1. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda 

2. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing +1.477

3. Casey Stoner AUS Repsol Honda +1.568

4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Repsol Honda +10.513

5. Ben Spies USA Yamaha Factory Racing +10.719

6. Marco Simoncelli ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini +10.923 

7. Alvaro Bautista ESP Rizla Suzuki +27.451

8. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboro +27.510

9. Valentino Rossi ITA Ducati Marlboro +27.576

10. Colin Edwards USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 +33.491

11. Hector Barbera ESP Mapfre Aspar +38.944 

12. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing +39.148 

13. Randy de Puniet FRA Pramac Racing +39.415

14. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 +39.477

15. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN San Carlo Honda Gresini +54.516

16. Toni Elias ESP LCR Honda +1’12.335 

17. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Pramac Racing 1 Lap


2011 MotoGP Championship Standings

1 Casey Stoner Repsol Honda Team 168

2 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Factory Racing 153

3 Andrea Dovizioso Repsol Honda Team 132

4 Valentino Rossi Ducati Marlboro Team 98

5 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 94

6 Ben Spies Yamaha Factory Racing 85

= Nicky Hayden Ducati Marlboro Team 85

8 Marco Simoncelli San Carlo Honda Gresini 60

9 Colin Edwards Monster Yamaha Tech 3 59

10 Hiroshi Aoyama San Carlo Honda Gresini 57

11 Héctor Barberá Mapfre Aspar Team 49

12 Karel Abraham Cardion AB Motoracing 41

13 Álvaro Bautista Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 39

14 Toni Elías LCR Honda MotoGP 35

15 Cal Crutchlow Monster Yamaha Tech 3 34

16 Loris Capirossi Pramac Racing Team 22

17 Randy de Puniet Pramac Racing Team 15

18 John Hopkins Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 6

19 Kousuke Akiyoshi San Carlo Honda Gresini 3



Daley doubles up with maiden Superbike win in wet race two at Grand Bend

Daley wins dramatic Sport Bike race two at Grand Bend

Guerin takes first career victory in wild Superbike race one at Grand Bend

Ben Young to race Suzuka 8 Hours with Team Taro Plus One BMW

Young squeaks out pole position for round two at Grand Bend

Honda Canada announces significant updates to 2025 lineup of CRF dirt bikes