MotoGP: Sombre Victory for Pedrosa at Misano

By Cycle CanadaPosted on

Dani Pedrosa led from start to finish today at Misano, converting his pole position to his  fourth victory of the season and first ever back-to-back grand prix wins. Unfortunately it was also the second grand prix weekend in a row where a racer lost their life prior to the main event. Shoya Tomizawa, the winner of the inaugural 600cc grand prix at Qatar this year, succumbed to injuries sustained during a crash in the earlier Moto2 race. The death of the 19-year-old Japanese comes just one week after 13-year-old American Peter Lenz died in an accident during a support race at Indianapolis.

Points leader Jorge Lorenzo  and Fiat Yamaha teammate Valentino Rossi finished second and third respectively, but there was no celebration afterward. Podium flags were flown at half mast and, as a mark of  respect for Tomizawa, champagne was not sprayed.

Pedrosa’s win narrows Lorenzo’s championship lead by five. With six rounds to go, the Repsol Honda rider now sits 63 points behind his fellow countryman. 

Round 13 of the MotoGP championship will be held at the new Aragon circuit, in Spain, on September 19. 


2010 Misano MotoGP – Race results

1. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team 44m 22.059s

2. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Fiat Yamaha Team 44m 23.959s

3. Valentino Rossi ITA Fiat Yamaha Team 44m 25.242s

4. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Repsol Honda Team 44m 28.513s

5. Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team 44m 40.538s

6. Ben Spies USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 44m 50.444s

7. Colin Edwards USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 44m 56.993s

8. Alvaro Bautista ESP Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 45m 0.216s

9. Hector Barbera ESP Paginas Amarillas Aspar 45m 3.002s

10. Marco Melandri ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini 45m 4.436s

11. Aleix Espargaro ESP Pramac Racing 45m 7.965s

12. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Interwetten Honda MotoGP 45m 8.453s

13. Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda MotoGP 45m 12.54s

14. Marco Simoncelli ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini


Mika Kallio FIN Pramac Racing

Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboro Team

Loris Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 


2010 MotoGP Riders’ Championship

1 Jorge Lorenzo Fiat Yamaha Team 271

2 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 208

3 Andrea Dovizioso Repsol Honda Team 139

4 Casey Stoner Ducati Marlboro Team 130

= Valentino Rossi Fiat Yamaha Team 130

6 Ben Spies Monster Yamaha Tech 3 120

7 Nicky Hayden Ducati Marlboro Team 109

8 Randy de Puniet LCR Honda 81

9 Marco Melandri San Carlo Honda Gresini 67

10 Colin Edwards Monster Yamaha Tech 3 66

11 Marco Simoncelli San Carlo Honda Gresini 65

12 Hector Barbera Aspar Racing Team 61

13 Alex Espargaro Pramac Racing Team 44

14 Loris Capirossi Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 41

= Alvaro Bautista Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 41

16 Mika Kallio Pramac Racing Team 31

17 Hiroshi Aoyama Interwetten Honda 26

18 Alex de Angelis Interwetten Honda 11

19 Roger Lee Hayden LCR Honda 5

20 Kousuke Akiyoshi Interwetten Honda 4

21 Wataru Yoshikawa Fiat Yamaha Team 1


Husqvarna Mobility excited to reveal new generation TC 85 for 2025

VROD 300 BLACK & RED by Lord Drake Kustoms

BMW K1 RACER 1.2 by Lord Drake Kustoms

Record breaking attendance at Distinguished Gentleman’s Ride 2024

Indian Motorcycle Releases Scout Custom Series

Airoh Spark 2: Style, Performance and Comfort