Szoke dominates in Edmonton

PAR Cycle CanadaPosted on

Jordan Szoke (BMW) secured two wins during the Canadian Superbike stop at Edmonton’s Castrol Raceway on the weekend.

After passing Jodi Christie (Honda) on lap four in Saturday’s Pro Superbike feature, Szoke took off for a runaway victory by a healthy margin of 10.094 seconds. Christie cruised to second, while Kenny Riedmann (Kawasaki) finished third, a further 4.994 seconds adrift. 

Christie had a stellar start in Sunday’s race and led in the early stages, but crashed out on lap three and would eventually end up 17th. Szoke capitalized on his rival’s mistake and went on to an unchallenged win, though the eventual second-place finisher Riedmann kept close for a handful of laps. Last year’s Pro Superbike runner-up Trevor Daley (Suzuki) took his first podium of 2015 after holding off the Kawasakis of Alberta riders Mike Zottmann and Justin Knapik. 

Kenny Riedmann (Triumph) took the win in Saturday’s Pro Sport Bike race, thwarting a late charge by Jodi Christie (Honda). Despite a crash in the final corner that allowed Darren James (Yamaha) to sneak into second, Christie managed to rejoin the race and finish third. 

Riedmann doubled up with another win in Pro Sport Bike on Sunday, followed by Christie in second. A solid ride from Pro Sport Bike rookie Tomas Casas (Yamaha) secured his first pro podium. 

For full results from CSBK rounds three and four, click here.

Jordan Szoke leads the overall Pro Superbike standings with 219 points. Jodi Christie is second overall with 142 and Kenny Riedmann jumps to third with 140.

Christie is first overall in Pro Sport Bike with 185 points, though Riedmann is nipping at his heels with 183. Darren James is third overall with 128.

The next round of CSBK goes August 2 at Atlantic Motorsport Park in Shubenacadie, Nova Scotia.


Kawasaki Announces 2022 Team Green Winners

MV Agusta Motor S.p.A. and KTM AG complete an important recapitalisation for sustained growth

First Person – Larry Bejcar, St. Albert, Alberta

Moto-Tech – Chassis parameters and handling

2023 Bridgestone CSBK National Championships will start and finish at Shannonville Motorsport Park

New riders – Long live the Kawasaki KLR