MotoGP: Lorenzo Dominates Silverstone

By Cycle CanadaPosted on


Jorge Lorenzo (Fiat Yamaha) converted his pole position to victory in dominant fashion during the AirAsia British Grand Prix at Silverstone today. The Spaniard finished 6.743sec ahead of Reposol Honda rider Andrea Dovizioso and led by us much as 8 seconds for part of  the race. Rookie Ben Spies (Monster Yamaha Tech 3 ) battled to the first MotoGP podium of his career by edging out fellow American Nicky Hayden (Ducati Marlboro) for third place by just 0.214 seconds.  

Lorenzo’s third win in 5 races increases his championship lead to 37 points, a feat he acknowledged by dressing up as one of the Beatles and joining three others in a ‘St. Pepper’ themed celebration after today’s race. 

Silverstone MotoGP – Race results from round five of the 2010 world championship.

Hiroshi Aoyama did not start the race after being injured in morning warm-up…

1. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Fiat Yamaha Team 41m 34.083s

2. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Repsol Honda Team 41m 40.826s

3. Ben Spies USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 41m 41.180s

4. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Marlboro Team 41m 41.397s

5. Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team 41m 41.577s

6. Randy de Puniet FRA LCR Honda MotoGP 41m 43.138s

7. Marco Simoncelli ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini 41m 48.508s

8. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team 41m 49.396s

9. Colin Edwards USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 42m 2.0370s

10. Aleix Espargaro ESP Pramac Racing 42m 16.477s

11. Hector Barbera ESP Paginas Amarillas Aspar 42m 17.448s

12. Alvaro Bautista ESP Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 42m 17.491s

13. Mika Kallio FIN Pramac Racing 42m 17.663s


Loris Capirossi ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP

Marco Melandri ITA San Carlo Honda Gresini 



1 Jorge Lorenzo Fiat Yamaha Team 115

2 Andrea Dovizioso Repsol Honda Team 78

3 Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team 73

4 Valentino Rossi Fiat Yamaha Team 61

5 Nicky Hayden Ducati Marlboro Team52

6 Randy de Puniet LCR Honda 46

7 Ben Spies Monster Yamaha Tech 3 36

8 Casey Stoner Ducati Marlboro Team 35

9 Marco Melandri San Carlo Honda Gresini 32

= Marco Simoncelli San Carlo Honda Gresini 32

11 Colin Edwards Monster Yamaha Tech 3  26

12 Hector Barbera Aspar Racing Team 24

13 Alex Espargaro Pramac Racing Team 22

14 Hiroshi Aoyama Interwetten Honda MotoGP 18

15 Mika Kallio Pramac Racing Team 15

16 Loris Capirossi Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 13

17 Alvaro Bautista Rizla Suzuki MotoGP 12



Torin Collins Joins Economy Lube & Kawasaki for CSBK Round 5

Indian Motorcycle Challenger RR and FTR750 entertain the crowds at Goodwood Festival of Speed

First Aid for Motorcyclists with the Canadian Red Cross and Biker Down

Indian Motorcycle Factory Rider Tyler O’Hara Pilots S&S Indian FTR to Victory, Maintains SuperHooligan Championship Points Lead

Vespa Primavera Batik – Elegant lines of the Vespa meet Batik patterns of Indonesian culture

Indian Motorcycle Debuts RSD Custom Sport Scout